Fort Worth Car Accident Lawyers
Get Legal Help by Calling (800) 738-4046
Driving in Fort Worth can be delightful, but it can also be dangerous. Onlyinyourstate.com ranks Fort Worth 11th for Texas cities with the worst drivers1. This means drivers within the city limits have a greater than 26% chance of ending up in an accident. And, as with all things Texan, there are right steps and wrong steps to take if you or someone you love has been in an accident.
First Things First - Stay Put, Get Help, and Gather Evidence
While at the scene of the accident, it is very important that you stay there. It may sound foolish, especially if you think that you and your car are fine. You may be right, but under Texas law, if you drive away from an accident, you might face criminal charges for a hit-and-run driving offense. Obviously, the first concern is identifying any injured people and getting then appropriate medical attention while moving out of the way of traffic.
You will also need to exchange information with the other drivers or anyone involved in the accident. Make sure your license and registration, vehicle plates, insurance information, and other personal information are ready to go. It is useful to keep a notebook in the car, with a pen, in case you need to take down information.
Take note of where the accident happened; what the weather conditions were, and the names and contact information of any witnesses. Remember that "now" is not the appropriate time to talk about fault or responsibility for the accident. Gather photographs of the location, the vehicles involved, and any relevant conditions - if the traffic light was out, the weather was bad, or any other information that may help explain what happened.
It is worth noting that in any accident where someone is injured or killed, or if there is more than $1,000 in property damage, a crash report must be filed with the Texas Department of Transportation. This report can be sent directly to the Texas DOT, but it must be sent within ten days of the accident under the law.
What Options Exist for Motor Vehicle Accident Victims in Fort Worth?
After an accident, if you or someone you care about was injured, your first thoughts are probably about getting medical care. But who pays for that care - especially, if you were not responsible for the accident? It is important to note that Texas uses a "fault- based" insurance system where the driver at fault has to have sufficient insurance (at least $30,000 per victim and $60,000 per accident) to cover the costs of an injured party.
If they do not have enough insurance to cover the costs of the accident, then that at-fault driver can be personally sued for negligence or, in the worst cases, wrongful death. It is important for you to act quickly: The state of Texas has a time limit, or "statute of limitations," on how long after an accident lawsuits can be filed. There are other critical legal matters to be assessed, including whether fault might rise to the level of "contributory negligence" and prevent you from recovering any costs at all. At The Law Office of WT Johnson, we offer you our 25 years of experience and a free case evaluation. Contact us at (214) 231-0544 and toll free (800) 738-4046.
- Pedestrian Crosswalk Systems May Not Be Reliable
- Fort Worth in Top 10 DWI Cities
- Texas Police Chase Ends in Intersection Crash
- Fort Worth Regional Service Center
If you would like to discuss your claim with a member of our team, don't hesitate to call us at (214) 231-0544. We're ready to help you, and won't rest until you receive the settlement you deserve.